Tags

Good Morning,

My Sunday was somewhat amazing even though I kicked off my Sunday as late as 5p.m. Prior to that, I did nothing but laid down on my bed reading and took a nap in between. As promised, I left home for Annexe Central Market to watch a movie screening, “Prayers for Bobby”. The movie is based on the true story of the life of Bobby Griffith, a young gay man who killed himself due to his mother’s and community’s religious intolerance. The story moved the audience to tears especially gays and lesbians in the hall who could relate to the story. Two-third of the crowd were homosexuals. The good quality of the film was supported with a notch of awards that had been won by the film. In fact, it was nominated for 2010 Golden Globe Award.

Since sexuality has become a bigger issue in the 21st century, let us stop and think about the population that takes up 5% of human population. It is proven by scientific researches that homosexuality is inherited by heretosexual female gene. Just as much as a person does not choose to be born blind, deaf, handicapped, and autistic, homosexuals do not choose to be one too. They are created as such. I used to look at my gay-prone friends from a negative perspective until I met a transexual in PT Foundation years ago.

When I was in school, I had few friends who made it obvious about their female inclination behaviour. I had approached one with the hope to encourage him to start seeing a girl just before I left school. I purposedly asked him to let me know if he’s seeing a girl already. Being a forgetful me, I didn’t keep track until one fine day, we chatted via Yahoo Messenger. He reminded me of the keypohci request I had once made. With scant knowledge about homosexuality back then, I was embarassed upon him reminding me. Although to me, it might be an honest attempt to correct what I deemed wrong, it striked to him as my unwillingness to accept him as he is. The fact that he still remembered what I said to him after 6 years, I somehow knew I hurt him by my ridiculous request.

Gays and lesbians whom I have met are good people with big hearts. They are like any other human beings. If you have a chance to get to know them, by all means, try to understand them at the best of your ability.

Last week, a Malaysian transexual won a refugee status in Australia on the basis of her sexuality. She told the status determination panel that she would carry the risk of whipping and imprisonment if she continued dressing as a woman. That falls within the purview of well-founded fear of being persecuted. It goes to show how severe a homosexual is being ill-treated in Malaysia.

I wish I have plenty time to elaborate.

After all, we may pass our judgments, but in the end, what matters most is the God’s judgment.

With that, I rest my case..