Tags

,

I bought a novel to read myself to sleep last week. Dear John is the title of the book. If you are a fan of Nicholas Sparks, you should not miss this one. I am not a fan although I always find the novel-based movies rather moving.

To begin with, a Dear John or a Dear Jane letter is a letter written for the purpose of breaking up with an absent girlfriend or boyfriend, wife or husband, as the case may be.

I cried bucket of tears flipping through the pages of the novel. What do you expect? I just suffered from a heart break due to a break up; reason – physical absence similar to that of the novel. The novel reflects two-third of my relationship drama. The setting might be different but the contents are somewhat similar. I feel you, John.

The novel is beautifully written. But I have to warn you, the movie is not as good as the book.

I provide herewith a list of my favourite quotes from the book, Dear John:

I finally understood what true love meant…love meant that you care for another person’s happiness more than your own, no matter how painful the choices you face might be.

When you’re struggling with something, look at all the people around you and realize that every single person you see is struggling with something, and to them, it’s just as hard as what you’re going through.

It’s possible to go on, no matter how impossible it seems, and that in time, the grief . . . lessens. It may not go away completely, but after a while it’s not so overwhelming.

Our story has three parts: a beginning, a middle, and an end. And although this is the way all stories unfold, I still can’t believe that ours didn’t go on forever.

I’ve been burdened by questions I’ve asked myself a thousand times since the last time we were together.
Why did I do it? And would I do it again?
It was I, you see, who ended it

We’d met at a carefree time, a moment full of promise, in its place now were the harsh lessons of the real world.

I’m Not Really Sure Where You Are In The World right Now But I Know I Lost The right To Know That.

It takes more than special days to survive a relationship that spanned the Atlantic Ocean. I’d heard guys in my unit swear they were in love after coming off leave-and maybe they were-but it never lasted.

Though I knew she loved and cared for me, I suddenly understood that even love and caring weren’t always enough. They were the concrete bricks of our relationship, but unstable without the mortar of time spent together, time without the threat of imminent separation hanging over us. Although I didn’t want to admir, there was much about her I didn’t know.

When we were together, we had the power to keep it spinning, and the result was beauty and magic and an almost childlike sense of wonder; when we separated, the spinning began inevitably to slow. We became wobbly and unstable, and I knew I had to find a way to keep us from toppling over.

Till then
With Love from Kulim.