Tags

This is the time of my life when I have the least plan as to what I am going to do the day after tomorrow and the following days. Honestly, my travel plan is not even a plan to begin with. I cannot even decide if I were to head straight to Battambang from Phnom Penh. But, I can picture myself seating by the riverside in Phnom Penh munching fried bugs.

I have found a host in Phnom Penh. I will be staying over at her place for 2 nights before leaving for Battambang. I might not go to Battambang if faith has it that I fall head over heels in love with the Penh’s Hill (literal translation for Phnom Penh) once known as “Pearl of Asia”. But I can’t miss the dusty, laid back town second to Phnom Penh. Known for its self-innovated vehicle called Nory Bamboo Train. Sangker River’s wetland should not be missed according to most travel sites.
If I were to be in Phonm Penh for 2 days, Battambang for 2 days, I am left with 2 days to explore Siem Reap. I doubt it’s enough to explore the land of wonders.

Geared with Karrimor Monsoon, Periplus Travel Map of Cambodia and a Nikon D70s, I am all set for Cambodia once the sun rises on Wednesday. The moment I set foot outside of my comfort territory, the journey of a solo and independent backpacker begins. I will be traveling on a shoe string budget and I know not even a single person in Cambodia. I wish to make like-minded friends along the short journey in Cambodia. I don’t have a fixed travel plan. I don’t know where I am going to stay in Battambang and Siem Reap.

I will keep my eyes open to see through the life of Khmer people; struggle over poverty hidden behind shining smiles, or perhaps, the contentment of life that they enjoy despite the minimal necessity they are provided with. I will keep my heart open to feel the sadness that engulfs the Khmer people over the loss of their loved ones during the brutal regime of Khmer Rouge (especially at the killing field). I will travel with pen and note book to document the tales of the locals.

What Mark Jenkins says about adventure sums up my idea of traveling. And it goes like this,

“Adventure is a path. Real adventure – self-determined, self-motivated, and often risky – forces you to have first-hand encounters with the world. The world the way it is, not the way you imagine it. Your body will collide with the earth and you will bear witness. In this way you will be compelled to grapple with the limitless kindness and bottomless cruelty of humankind – and perhaps realize that you yourself are capable of both. This will change you. Nothing will ever again be black-and-white.”

To Cambodia on a Shoestring, leah sen heuy!