Although most of the foreigners I have befriended expressed their complaints of having death risks to cross the roads in Malaysia, it was only tonight that I fully understand what the risks of crossing the roads in Malaysia are. At 9p.m., I patiently waited for Jalan Bukit Bintang to clear off before crossing the road in order to get to my allotted parking space in Pavilion. There was less traffic but the cars were speeding at a ready-to-kill-speed.

As soon as the gap between the cars allowed me to cross the four lanes road just in front of Westin Hotel, I quickly made my way to the other side of the road. One of the conventional guides to cross a busy road is to always have your eyes fixed on the upcoming cars. If needs be, you need to make a hand gesture for the cars to stop.

Back to my story, as I was walking quickly, I saw a Kenari zig-crossing from the far left lane to the far right lane (remember the road has four lanes). It was coming to my direction and looking at the speed, you would be able to tell that the driver won’t be able to stop even if he immediately pressed the brakes. For all I could remember, the driver panicked.

As he was trying to control the car, the car swayed left and right-unstable. I was at that point of time, at the centre of the road, to be exact on the white line that demarcate between two most centred lanes. A few second thoughts saved my life. I jumped back. Both the car and I were in safe condition. I stood in the middle of the road for few seconds before a Chinese lady gave way for me to cross.

I could have died there, in Jalan Bukit Bintang.

While driving home, my mind kept on playing the scene over and over again. The whole story relates back to my mother’s telephone call at about 6p.m. She insistently asked me to take care of myself as though she has read somewhere that at about 9p.m., a car might run me to death. Mother instinct, hard to comprehend.