Busy, work has taken a toll on me. From preparing a criminal defence overnight after getting a charge sheet just the day before the trial was fixed to rectifying defects made by previous lawyers in charge.

I find that criminal litiga/tion requires maximum cognitive skills than that of civil litiga/tion. One must use one’s own reasonableness to even decide whether to reasonably believe the client’s story. One gets many versions of events. At first glance, I was in so much doubt that my client did not do the offence. As we progress, I have valid grounds to say that he was framed or “tricked”. I give him the benefit of my doubt.

Besides using your reasoning, you will at the least be shadowed by human emotions and sentiments. Just how much you want to appear partial, you will somehow be touched by the story behind the case. You learn and will be strong. If your client is convicted, you will find yourself trying to convince that the convict had done the offence. And you hope you will get over it and move on to the next case.

Have not anyone warned you not to be emotional with your case? Have you not heard that emotion is the enemy of logic? And yes, the next question you may want to ask is should you stop being a human being to have a stone cold heart?
Once in a while I get to avoid pleadings and bundle of documents by looking through Criminal Procedure Code and criminal related documents, I feel alive, kicking and contributing.