Tags

The criminal trial was limited to conventional practice of plea bargaining and plea of mitigation. But I learned quite handful knowledge, both legal procedures and the reality of life. Attending to criminal matter, I admit requires a lot of energy and is really exhaustive. I went to the office at 6a.m. today just to make final preparation of my case ensuring everything was in order.

After submitting my plea of mitigation, a sentence of one day imprisonment and a fine of RM1,000.00 was imposed. I invited the father of my client to go for a drink while waiting for the interpreter of the court to bring down the file. It was a real story of kasih seorang bapa yang tak ternilai. He never failed to accompany his son to attend court and he still could talk so proudly of his son after what had actually happened. He gains my due respect for that.

It was the repetition of gratefulness expressed to yours truly that really made the satisfaction of helping the needful. I am used to big companies whose representatives care less as to whether or not they would suffer loss, except in cases where the directors were sued in his own capacity as a director. From the other practice of law, what are in risk are other people’s life and his future life. My client was put in the court’s lock up from the moment the sentence was passed and released at about 4.30p.m. Yes that is what you get for one day imprisonment.

And yes, he called me up right after that. Happily letting me know how grateful he was for the difficulties and burdens that he had been carrying for four years have been lifted. I will save you the facts of the case but it is enough for me to say it is more probable that he was framed than he was in fact committing the offence. And yes, he exercised his right to plead guilty after taking into consideration few factors despite numerous insistences of yours truly to proceed with the trial.
It makes me feel good. It may not be something as big as saving someone’s life from the hangman noose. It makes a big difference to the person whom I have helped.

Found this poem that summarizes how I feel about life at this moment. Presenting you a poem by Raja Basu: Life is a Teacher.

Life is a teacher, which teaches how to live.
Life is a teacher, which teaches how to win.
Life is a teacher, which teaches how to laugh.
Life is a teacher, which teaches how to make other people cry.
Life is a teacher, which teaches how to love.
Life is a teacher, which teaches how to hate.
Life is a teacher, which teaches how to win honour.
Life is a teacher, which teaches how to embarrass others.
Indeed, life is a great teacher as it teaches everything.
And in this very greatness lies life’s weakness, that it teaches everything.
It teaches how to love, but also teaches how to hate.
It teaches how to help, but also teaches how to harm.
It teaches how to honour (others) , but also teaches how to embarrass (others) .
It teaches how to laugh, but also teaches how to make other people cry.
Wish life were a bit selective in its teaching.
But can’t we be a bit selective in taking lessons?