Tags

, , , ,

I think it’s not possible for me to summarize my trip each day for there are so many things to tell. Henceforth, I will break it into few posts as you may find later.

After we were settled with the room and I had a deal arranged with a rickshaw driver for the next day, we went to the must-visit-restaurant in Hampi, The Mango Tree.

The Mango Tree is located along the Tungabhadra river, on a hilly slope. As you enjoy the brisk walk under the sun, you will be amazed by the scene of locals having baths by the river, open laundry system (no clothes hanger involved) and the colourfulness of them all. Have your camera gears ready! Tungabhadra river is where you can take the boat to go to the other side of the river.


We had to walk through banana plantations in order to reach the Mango Tree restaurant. Customers sat under huge mango trees outside on a terraced seating area overlooking the river prepped up with huge boulders. What a sight! It was a pristine and refreshing view. It made me feel lucky leaving my demanding daily work behind for two weeks vacation.

Food was fabulous. I had my first thali meal in Hampi. Thali is an Indian meal that contains various dishes, usually served in small bowls on a round tray with a banana leaf cover. Typical dishes include rice, dhal, chapatti, vegetables, papad, curd, chutney, pickle and sweet dish. Thali is the same like banana leaf rice found in mamak stall in Malaysia. Papad refers to papadom. Pickle in India ain’t taste like our Malay acar, it tastes weird enough to the satisfaction of my taste.


I have to say that thali is the most economical meal you can have in India. But be caution that thalis vary from one region to another.