Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Waking up on an early Sunday morning, I was energetic and ready to do what it takes to make the fullest of my only Sunday in Bohol. I had my yummylicious banana pancake and omelette breakfast while seating at the table next to a British lady with swollen eyes. When asked what happened to her eyes, she told me she had suffered from an eye infection and added, I was the first person on her trip who was concerned enough to ask. There and then it occured to me how a simple act of asking a fellow traveller of his well-being may strike as deep concern to another, especially so, when he is a lone-ranger.

The auto rickshaw driver was already there at the check-out counter by the time I lugged my heavy luggage together with my newly purchased ukelele. Based on the countryside tour, I was scheduled to visit Hinangdan Cave, Bohol Bee Farm and Dauis Church before being transferred to Panglao Beach.

The Filipinos are religious lot, at 8.30a.m., the streets were already busy with the locals making their ways to the Sunday Mass.

The autorickshaw took me to the highway facing the sea onto a bridge that connected Tagbilaran City and Panglao Island. On the bridge, children threw the fishing reels off the bridge while young couples giggled lovingly to god-knows-what jokes.The sea was turquoise and so inviting! I told Richard, the autorickshaw driver, I wanted to make a stop on the bridge and he replied, “yes, yes…madam… yes”. As we passed the other end of the bridge, it appeared that Richard did not understand me at all.

As the auto rickshaw slowed down and neared the Dauis Church Complex, I was hampered with curiosity for I had never seen nor attended a Sunday Mass. There was a procession going on inside the church and the attendees were spilling up until the entrance of the church. Richard brought me to the back of the church, where one could get the Lady’s water. All the terms used were alien to me – “Assumption Parish”, “One Bread One Body One People”, “Our Lady’s Grotto”.

Dauis Church Complex’s history can be found here.

Just outside the church, fresh fruits and vegetable were sold.

On our way to Hinangdan Cave, I lost count on how many churches and masses that we passed by. Maybe, twenty. Maybe, thirty. They were just too many to count by fingers.

Hinangdan Cave is a karst cave, being made of limestone located in Dauis, Panglao Island. The entrance of the cave is a hole of about 1 meter wide in diameter and the cemented steps are narrow and slippery. As I had my backpack with me, Richard carried my heavy backpack inside the cave. Truth be told, I was afraid if Richard stumbled into the blue lagoon. The entrance fee is Php15 and parking fee is Php15.

Inside the cave, there is a greenish lagoon that floored the cave. It was said that greenish feature was due to the green limestone at the bottom of the lagoon. The adventurista may want to take a dip in the lagoon, if you don’t mind the karsts pollutants as well as the birds’poops that surfaced the lagoon.

I read on the internet that one could get a beautiful photo of the ray light entering a hole of the cave at certain time of the day. As I reached the cave a bit too late for that shot, I had to settle with so-so pictures of the cave.

And the journey was continued to Bohol Bee Farm. I heard many good reviews of this place!

With Bohol Bee Farm as my last leg of the countryside tour, I was sent by Richard to Panglao Beach area. After few words and hand signs indicating that I was on a budget and could not afford the hotels he recommended me, he finally got the point and brought me to Bohol Divers Club. A room with fan for Php500/night. Affordable and 5 minutes walk from the beach. Whatelse can I wish for!