Tags

,

Hiking is never an easy hobby. It requires mental and physical preparation. Hiking involves long-hour walking through jungle terrain and mountainous range. More often than not, steep terrains are involved. So much so, when I left hiking for full concentration on career 3 years ago, I put on more weight and engaged with little exercise. When I decided to make a comeback, I had difficult encounters to switch to hiking mode.

I lost most of my hiking essentials leaving me with one backpack which I traveled with across the globe and a pair of rubber shoes I bought in Seoul, South Korea. During the last hiking trip, refer previous post, my energy drained and my motivation thinned out. With improper hiking accessories, I knew my preparation then was below par.

Hiking Accessories Selection
In selecting your hiking accessories, you should consider what kind of jungles you will hike. If it’s tropical jungle like here in Malaysia, you have to consider climax-dry materials for trekking uniform. Then consider how long you will spend in the jungle. The longer you go, the bigger your bag should be. What you wear at night to sleep is important. Good socks and gloves would do in times of cold. Make sure you bring a fleece too.

Shoes – walking and running shoes tend to make you slip to fall. And it’s a definite NO for hiking. Bear in mind that the branded hiking boots from Europe might not be practical in our tropical rainforest, most of which are meant for high alpine mountains. When choosing a quality hiking shoes, I would go after the one that offers good ankle protection, waterproof feature and light weight. For tropical rainforest, mid cut is sufficient to provide ankle protection.

If costs is your concern, then rubber shoes is another bet. Cheap and perform relatively well. The last time I checked, it costs only RM7.90.
Mine: Hi-Tec Sofala Mid WP (Women) *brand new – will write a review

Sleeping bag – Something that I can’t afford to travel without. Traveling for ardous hours, light weight sleeping bag and space minimization are the way to go. One way to select a sleeping bag is to choose the appropriate temperature rating provided at the cover of the sleeping bag. Temperature rating indicates the lowest temperature at which a bag will keep the normal sleeper warm. For example, a sleeping bag of 5 degree celcius means the user will remain warm at 5 degree celcius. All these assuming that the user is wearing a layer of clothes inside and using a carry mat/tour mat under the bag.
Mine: Vaude Sioux 100

Here’s a list of things to bring when hiking Malaysian mountains:-
1. Backpack 40L onwards;
2. Rain cover for backpack;
3. Climax dry shirt;
4. Climax dry pants for trekking;
5. Waterproof hiking boot;
6. Socks
7. Carry mat/ Tour mat;
8. Sleeping bag;
9. Jacket/Fleece;
10. Toiletries;
11. Towel;
12. Clothes;
13. Foldable waterproof bag;
14. Camera;
15. Food;
16. Foodware – Spoon, Fork, Plate and Cup;
17. Contact lenses & mirror;
18. Wet tissues;
19. Headlamp & Torchlight;
20. Ear plug (to avoid snores);
21. Small first aid kit – Muazam Hadi;
22. Whistle – Muazam Hadi;
23. Pocket Knife – Muazam Hadi;
24. Raincoat/Poncho – Byyakudos;
25. Loads of plastic bags;
26. Anti-leech socks;
27. Water container/waterbag.

If there are things I miss out, please feel free to add.